Halfway; a tale by Russell - Reisverslag uit Guayaquil, Ecuador van Bart Brandts Buys - WaarBenJij.nu Halfway; a tale by Russell - Reisverslag uit Guayaquil, Ecuador van Bart Brandts Buys - WaarBenJij.nu

Halfway; a tale by Russell

Door: Russell

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Bart

25 Februari 2015 | Ecuador, Guayaquil

Dear readers,

After seeing Bart spending so much time to inform you about his adventures, it’s finally my turn to speak to my beloved followers. While traveling alongside Bart for the last weeks I grew from a shy boy scout to a confident aesthetic voyager

I was never a loved toy. I spend my days hiding in a second hand comic book store in Groningen. From my plastic box I saw the rest of the world; carton boxes and a poster of Betty Boobs. As the comic books keep piling up, the days past like cars on a freeway. The only fun I had was playing “freeze” with the other Disney figures, when the store was closes. As the dust on my cap grew bigger, I felt this burning desire in me to travel growing and growing...
Though I’m made of plastic, I’m a true boy scout. I want to see the world. Experience the Wild! I was made to do this. I got all my badges and carry every single thing you need on the road.

My heart and backpack we’re full, but the store stayed empty. There were never much costumers in
the store. Most visitors where not interested in the toys behind the desk, they were only looking in the carton boxes, looking for treasures. Some of them smiled at us, but never really interested. I hated the guys who stand for my nose for hours, but where only there to buy Magic the Gathering cards. Nerds..

But then Bart came in. He was directly amazed by all of my Disney and Pixar friends around me. I saw that he was interested, but was her interested in me? So I tightly grabbed my backpack and showed him my biggest smile! In my mind I just keep thinking; pick me, pick me!
It took him a while to spot me, but then our eyes crossed I thought to see an even bigger smile on Bart’s already shining face.

Instead of buying me, he waited for nearly 10 minutes and nearly left. I thought it was me. He might have seen my missing badge or maybe he just fancied a feminine figure. Next to me we’re Ariel the mermaid and of course the stunning Milan. Oeff, they are both really hot. If I had the choice I would…. Uhm okay, sorry I’m wondering off…
It wasn’t me, it wasn’t Bart, Nope, as always, it was a stupid card-buying-Magics-fan. He overtook Bart’s place in line while he was watching me. We’ll watching us.. This dude brought a whole list with numbers of cards he was missing. The owner of the store is a good man, but a bit of a stoner. He isn’t the quickest and since this moron brought the biggest list ever, the 10 minutes looked like 5 whole weeks.

When the guy reached for his pocket, to get the list of his friend, Bart intervened. After apologizing he pointed at me! He chose me. Hooray. After seeing Wally, Asterix and Peter Pan go, it was finally my turn. My turn to enjoy a new view; ready to see the world.
I was probably a gift, but in my cheeky thoughts I was hoping I would have a place on his windowsill. How awesome would it be to have a window seat. This might be my lucky day..

What happened was more than I ever expected, more than I could ever dream of. To be honest, my expectations of life weren’t high. If I would actually leave the store for my first journey, I would be easily satisfied. Traveling for me would be seeing a kids room and if lucky visit a dollhouse (maybe have a little action with Barbie). Then probably getting boxed for a few years, before going to the flea market on Queensday and hoping for a better life. But Bart had bigger plans for me. Way bigger.

In his conversation with my owner I heard he was planning to travel and he was looking for a companion. Off course I’m the best choice, what does Shrek now about traveling. Off course he chose me. Nobody get’s lost with me around. I have my map reading badge!

As soon as I got out of his pocket, he put me next to his map of the world in his apartment. I was very curious where we would go. On the map I saw my birth county; China. It’s far away, but I can’t really remember everything of this. Then again, the first light I saw was in the store because I was boxed on the boat to the Netherlands.
Before telling me where we would go, he took a picture of me. I’m not used to pictures. Nobody was even looking at me before and now I’m a model! I just kept thinking to myself; hold that backpack and keep smiling! He didn’t say much to me but by overhearing his conversation with visiting friends I knew we were going to Central and South America. The best part; we would be leaving within a week!

Writing this, it feels like ages ago. We’ve been traveling for 7 weeks and boy o boy I did see some cool stuff. This trip is being great!

To be honest, first I thought Bart would be a bit of a stupid guy. Cause why would somebody go travel alone, he probably have no friends (And I’m not even mentioning the fact he is a 28 year old guy taking pictures of a toy). But he turned out to be a great guy.
He is really friendly to me and everybody he’s meeting. He takes me everywhere. I’ve seen Mexico, Belize, Guatemala and Ecuador. I’ve been on busses, plains, boats, cars, bicycles, trains, kayaks, tuk-tuks and in the back of trucks. The amount of places I visited and people I’ve met is amazing.
Yes, I’m in good hands.
Sometimes he is a bit of a nutcase, and a thrill-seeker as well. Not really my cup of tea, but I’m starting to enjoy it. And it’s not like I have any choice.

We make a good team. Cause apparently I’m a popular guy as well. People think I’m funny, want to hold me and take pictures with me. You could say I’m almost famous. On Facebook, my picture folder has more than 130 likes. There are even lots of people asking me to get my own account. Bart is still thinking about this, so if you want to be my friend on Facebook; help me out and subscribe below please.

I also met some “toy-friends” along the way, all good mates, but I’m glad I’m staying with Bart. He takes well care of me. Sometimes I’m a bit afraid he might lose me. I’ve heard stories about him losing a kangaroo in Australia. I nearly got kidnapped on the boat while cruising the Galapagos, but I’m confident we’ll get home together.

For a Dutchy, Bart is doing very well on his own. Of course I am, as traveling expert, doing all the hard labour, but he’s allright. He is also doing a really good job in telling all our stories. You’ll have probably read about the party’s in Playa, the Tempels and the Sunsets on Lake Atitlan. If you didn’t, you should. But, you could also safe some time and just check my pictures, cause I was there all the time.

I’m so excited to see South America. Can’t wait to see more cool stuff. Hopefully I get my last badge when we complete this majestic travel

Enjoy my pictures; Greetings Russell
May the force be with you!

  • 02 Maart 2015 - 08:51

    Mirjam:

    Haha....Russell you're an amazing guy!
    Great story, keep going boy!
    Say hello to Bart.

  • 03 Maart 2015 - 09:54

    Ellen:

    I would like to be your friend on fb!:)

  • 06 Maart 2015 - 06:40

    Marieke:

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Bart

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 371
Totaal aantal bezoekers 94604

Voorgaande reizen:

07 Januari 2015 - 09 April 2015

Midden & Zuid-Amerika 2015

26 Januari 2011 - 28 Juni 2011

Down Under 2011

12 Juli 2010 - 30 Juli 2010

Campert 2010

07 Juli 2009 - 02 Augustus 2009

Indonesie 2009

21 Juli 2008 - 23 Juli 2008

Nu We Er Toch Zijn (Op Vakantie!)

06 Februari 2007 - 14 Mei 2007

Curacao 2007

23 Juli 2006 - 07 Augustus 2006

Canada 2006

Landen bezocht: